New friends are the only thing better than old ones….

This season I have had the pleasure to meet up with and ride with a few people that Ive “known” via the internet.  Its always a roll of the dice meeting new people for riding.  Sometimes there are stylistic differences or worst case scenario you end up with someone who can barely make it down the hill (an experience of this last example is the reason for my almost total ban on riding with anyone from work). However when you meet up with some people you know via snowboarding blogs and forums you can be rest assured it will be a fun day.  A month or so ago I met with David (@agnarchy  on twitter) and his crew when they came out from Michigan for a week of riding here in wonderful Utah.  David is one of the writers for www.agnarchy.com. Amid the chaos of having various members of his crew coming in and out of town we were able to get together for a few hours at Brighton resort. I was able to help them around the mountain a bit and we discussed various aspects of the industry on the lifts between runs. It was a great time and wish we had more to really show them all Brighton has to offer. This past weekend one of snowboardings most well known bloggers Shayboarder was in town and I was fortunate enough to meet up with her and her friend Steph for a great day of riding at Brighton. With random talk about riding, park rats, social media, and why girls should go to strip clubs the day went fast and lifts were shutting down before we knew it. One thing I found fun about having folks from out of town visit is getting to “show off ” my home mountain. Funny how little things about your mountain that you normally take for granted become special again when you get to show them to others for the first time. As this season starts to wind down Ive come to realize that these are two if its highlights. Hopefully there will be more meetings in the future not only with David and Shay but with more friends from the realm of cyber space.

4 responses to “New friends are the only thing better than old ones….

  1. Nice to discover all those Brighton hot spots – I learn new things every time I ride there. Thanks for showing us a good time!

  2. Hey burritos – i didn’t know you had a blog or I would’ve linked you when I talked about riding Brighton with you. For sure if I’m ever back in the PC area I will be in touch, I’d love to get some more shred at Brighton and Snowbird!

Leave a comment